I’ve generally thought of consent as a positive term, but in chatting with a friend I discovered she thought it had a bit of a negative slant. Her take is that agreeing to something you might find unappealing, but you are willing to do, is consent. You might consent to let the in laws stay with you for a month.  I think of consent as something actively agreed upon. The makeout session didn’t just sortakinda happen ish, you actively agreed to lock lips.

Together we agreed that we prefer books where there is enthusiastic, active agreement between characters knocking boots. What is your take on the word consent? Is there a term you prefer? A better way to describe an active yes?

(I wrote this post and then went over to browse my google reader, this was the first post I read. Coincidence?)

